PDA

View Full Version : Juice Boosted ? - I think not!


mrikasu
20-08-2004, 08:17 AM
There seems to be a link going all round the net at the moment for a new service that offers 2MB for nothing and over a dial up connection...

http://www.juiceboosted.com/

Transform your dialup to faster than broadband and ADSL speeds


Any PC or Mac with 9,600kbps modem upwards can use JUICE


Revolutionary unique technology. Easy to install and simple to use


Works with any internet connection and modem in any country




No cabling, engineers and no need to alter you PC


No contract or fees ever…… Guaranteed!


The ONLY alternative to broadband and it’s for FREE!


It costs nothing. Zero! Zip! Nada! It's FREE!

What are you waiting for? Juice up your connection right now!

Somehow I think this may just be a scam and a quick Google confirms that this is the thinking of most people.

The service isn't launched till October so we can't say for certain till then but I would definitely stay away.

Also whatever you do don't sign for the affiliate scheme. £27 a signup may sound nice but I would advise against giving them all your address and bank details!

Just though I would let you all know about this.

Lewiji
22-08-2004, 08:44 PM
Hmm. It sounds interesting, but it looks like the sites dissapeared.
I severely doubt that it's real though.
And I noticed:
Works with any internet connection and modem in any country

So by the sounds of things you have to have an internet connection already, which means it's possibly one of these data compressors that BOOST YOUR INTERNET 400% which actually do nothing of the sort and litter your PC with ads.

Sand-Man
22-08-2004, 08:51 PM
I will bet its a rip off. Such technology would put the cable/dsl providers out of business. If there was such technology, they would know about it. Besides the fact that all the connection speeds are regulated.

Lagmeister
23-08-2004, 09:19 AM
What a ridiculous scam, if anything of that sort came about it would be a major breakthrough, and would be widely broadcasted (well maybe not widley but you would hear about it on the news, in papers, etc...), and I would bet that the bigger BB companies would have none of it and quickly kill off the technology and/or adapt for their own means. But what can we say, the majority of people out there will think this is for real and never question unfortunately giving rise to more scams of this type.

Well I have a question for you lot, after perusing the internet for a bit I came across this company www.e7even.com, they seem to be legit, offering 1mb BB for 26.99, and are registered under www.adslguide.org.uk, as a good provider and seem to compare well to the other providers, I havent come across any bad reports and there seem to be just alot of people out there asking about them, so have you lot heard anything?

Lewiji
23-08-2004, 10:11 AM
As far as I can see e7even is legit, but the main problem is you can't pay monthly, you have to pay one off and therefore it's harder to pay for in the first place, and you can't cancel half way through and get a refund. However, it hasn't been marketed well so they'll probably go out of business soon.

Lagmeister
23-08-2004, 12:00 PM
I might go in for the 6 month contract, so if it all goes tits up its not too bad and I only loose £178 instead of £320 for the yearly, and upgrade to yearly later on if all goes well.