bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th Dec 2004, 17:00   #1
renimatorius
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 28
renimatorius has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
How to hide pc in lan

I have lan and one computer for email and news.How to hide it.It use xp
__________________
________________________________________
Modding like a virus you can't stop it

2500+@3200, DFI LANPARTY NFII ULTRA B, KINGSTON HYPERX 512Mb (dual kit), Samsung sata 80Gb, HIS Excalibur 9550 250/200--430/261
3DMARK 05 - 1535
3DMARK 03 - 3317
3DMARK 01SE - 11928
renimatorius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Dec 2004, 17:34   #2
ellism
Supermodder
 
ellism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ashford, UK
Posts: 347
ellism has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Put it in a couberd? What do you mean hide it? do you want it all but invisable to the lan (wich can be done witha fire wall) or what?
__________________
%48%45%58%20%69%74%27%73%20%67%6F%74%20%53%69%78%2 0%61%70%70%65%61%6C%00
I <3 Aquatuning & Enermax long time!
ellism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Dec 2004, 17:36   #3
Lazy
Meow?
 
Lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Leeds
Posts: 4,481
Lazy is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitLazy is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitLazy is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitLazy is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitLazy is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitLazy is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitLazy is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitLazy is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitLazy is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitLazy is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitLazy is almost as Godly as yodasarmpit
acquire an invisibility cloak as seen in harry potter
__________________
Last edited by K when he bent my wookie on 19-04-2004 at 22:31
Lazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Dec 2004, 18:04   #4
rooroo
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 105
rooroo has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
put it in a different workgroup or something
rooroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Dec 2004, 18:58   #5
renimatorius
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 28
renimatorius has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellism
Put it in a couberd? What do you mean hide it? do you want it all but invisable to the lan (wich can be done witha fire wall) or what?
Yes, invisible to the lan
__________________
________________________________________
Modding like a virus you can't stop it

2500+@3200, DFI LANPARTY NFII ULTRA B, KINGSTON HYPERX 512Mb (dual kit), Samsung sata 80Gb, HIS Excalibur 9550 250/200--430/261
3DMARK 05 - 1535
3DMARK 03 - 3317
3DMARK 01SE - 11928
renimatorius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Dec 2004, 20:21   #6
Lynx
Hypermodder
 
Lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 864
Lynx has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
install a fire wall and just make it drop all ping requests and packets like that.
Lynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Dec 2004, 21:31   #7
renimatorius
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 28
renimatorius has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I will try
__________________
________________________________________
Modding like a virus you can't stop it

2500+@3200, DFI LANPARTY NFII ULTRA B, KINGSTON HYPERX 512Mb (dual kit), Samsung sata 80Gb, HIS Excalibur 9550 250/200--430/261
3DMARK 05 - 1535
3DMARK 03 - 3317
3DMARK 01SE - 11928
renimatorius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Dec 2004, 20:09   #8
lord nicon21
sexy *******
 
lord nicon21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: U.K warwickshire
Posts: 1,150
lord nicon21 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by renimatorius
I will try

use sygate personal firewall its what i use and i am invisible to some computers on my network
__________________
Originally posted by Pygobombe
Cool.. can I come... I got a few additions I'd like to add... like make HPs and Compaqs computers (and other proprietary computers) illegal to be built... as well as celeron/duron.. they just too slow, better to get an older computer that performs better anyways
lord nicon21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Dec 2004, 23:12   #9
renimatorius
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 28
renimatorius has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I only change workgroup and pc become invisible
Thanks for all
__________________
________________________________________
Modding like a virus you can't stop it

2500+@3200, DFI LANPARTY NFII ULTRA B, KINGSTON HYPERX 512Mb (dual kit), Samsung sata 80Gb, HIS Excalibur 9550 250/200--430/261
3DMARK 05 - 1535
3DMARK 03 - 3317
3DMARK 01SE - 11928
renimatorius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Dec 2004, 00:14   #10
Rod10k
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Ipswich/Nottingham, UK
Posts: 176
Rod10k has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
That has hidden it to all but the least persistent person. with windows XP all you have to do is open my network places, then hit the link which says show workgroup computers, then go up one "directory" and you will see the two workgroups...

To stop it showing up you should block the ports needed for file and print sharing.

Rod
Rod10k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Dec 2004, 22:19   #11
TheAnimus
Banned
 
TheAnimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Reading
Posts: 3,214
TheAnimus has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod10k
That has hidden it to all but the least persistent person. with windows XP all you have to do is open my network places, then hit the link which says show workgroup computers, then go up one "directory" and you will see the two workgroups...

To stop it showing up you should block the ports needed for file and print sharing.

Rod
uc this is y i hate firewalls, this is peoples aproch, block it at the firewall.

JUST DISABLE FILE SHARING.

not hard, goto the adaptor properties, and uncheck fire sharing + microsoft client.

done.
TheAnimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Dec 2004, 22:27   #12
Rod10k
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Ipswich/Nottingham, UK
Posts: 176
Rod10k has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
But if you disable file and print sharing I thought that the computer was still visable, however it just said access denied or whatever when you "opened" it. However I could and probably am wrong...

Essentially this comes down to how hidden it needs to be. If it needs to be invisable then the best way is to remove the network cable

Rod
Rod10k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Dec 2004, 12:36   #13
buzzy
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 211
buzzy has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheAnimus
uc this is y i hate firewalls, this is peoples aproch, block it at the firewall.

JUST DISABLE FILE SHARING.

not hard, goto the adaptor properties, and uncheck fire sharing + microsoft client.
A firewall can be configured to drop inbound connections, while still allowing outbound connections, so although you're "invisible" on the LAN, you can still access other people's shares.

Furthermore, a firewall can be configured to stop inbound requests for any or all TCP and UDP ports, as well as other protocols (ICMP for example). Disabling F+P sharing doesn't accomplish that.

This is why people suggest using a firewall. It's a more powerful and comprehensive solution for making your PC invisible across a network.

Cheers
Buzzy
buzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Dec 2004, 15:08   #14
scoob8000
Wheres my plasma cutter?
 
scoob8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Pittsburgh,PA, USA
Posts: 1,947
scoob8000 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
A firewall is close as your going to get..

If you plugged a firewalled and locked down system into my network I would still be able to know its there..

Unless your not using TCP/IP, and then you wouldn't have internet acccess..

So why hide a machine on the network anywaY?
scoob8000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2004, 12:48   #15
TheAnimus
Banned
 
TheAnimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Reading
Posts: 3,214
TheAnimus has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzy
A firewall can be configured to drop inbound connections, while still allowing outbound connections, so although you're "invisible" on the LAN, you can still access other people's shares.

Furthermore, a firewall can be configured to stop inbound requests for any or all TCP and UDP ports, as well as other protocols (ICMP for example). Disabling F+P sharing doesn't accomplish that.

This is why people suggest using a firewall. It's a more powerful and comprehensive solution for making your PC invisible across a network.

Cheers
Buzzy
you can tell windows how to change its response to ICMP, or you could in NT 4.

as for allowing outgoing, yes thats true, but you can also change its policies so that its stealthed.

its just very bad practice, alough a nice quick fix, to block everything at the firewall
TheAnimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Jan 2005, 15:57   #16
buzzy
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 211
buzzy has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
How would you go about "changing the policies" (what policies exactly?) on a W2k or XP desktop so that it doesn't respond to an attempted connection on a TCP port? By that, I mean that it silently drops the connection rather than sending a SYN ACK or NACK packet back in response to the initial SYN?

Yes, you can set up TCP/IP filtering on a connection to block or allow only certain ports, but that's extremely limited - you don't, for example, have the option to specify "only inbound" or "only outbound", or include or exclude an IP range from the rules.

I don't get why you say that dropping incoming connections at the firewall is bad practice. That's what firewalls are *for*

Cheers
Buzzy
buzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Jan 2005, 16:35   #17
TheAnimus
Banned
 
TheAnimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Reading
Posts: 3,214
TheAnimus has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzy
How would you go about "changing the policies" (what policies exactly?) on a W2k or XP desktop so that it doesn't respond to an attempted connection on a TCP port? By that, I mean that it silently drops the connection rather than sending a SYN ACK or NACK packet back in response to the initial SYN?

Yes, you can set up TCP/IP filtering on a connection to block or allow only certain ports, but that's extremely limited - you don't, for example, have the option to specify "only inbound" or "only outbound", or include or exclude an IP range from the rules.

I don't get why you say that dropping incoming connections at the firewall is bad practice. That's what firewalls are *for*

Cheers
Buzzy

Firewalls shouldn't be used to block a service, when u can disable the service, its a waste of time, and its way some nasty person will exploit ur bad security design, its just not a *good* thing.

a firewall is for dropping malicous (in the idel world) packets, or implementing a VLAN type idea based on say an IP range. When you want something thats global you just stop the service.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Firewal...ter_networking

Its like when people have print host service running on unix, when they never use it, so they just firewall the port, its stupid.
TheAnimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
network

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:16.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.